15 Books Like a Wimpy Kid

Books Like a Wimpy Kid

Have Your kids read Diary of a wimpy kid? And you want more books like a wimpy kid? Well, read and find out more books like a wimpy kid. Our readers are huge fans of the bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid novels.  

In addition, Wimpy Kid is a favorite for reluctant readers because it is written as engaging and amusing diary entries from wise-cracking middle school kid Greg Heffley, with excellent cartoon-style graphics.  

Check out our selection below if your kids have discovered the series and are looking for additional books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.  

Furthermore, these illustrated fiction novels are laugh-out-loud funny and are appropriate for children aged seven and up. Here are 15 books like wimpy kids to enjoy after reading the Diary of a wimpy kid.  

Table of Contents

1. The 13-Storey Treehouse

By Andy Griffiths 

The 13-Storey Treehouse is a book written by Andy Griffiths and drawn by Terry Denton published in 2011 and a stage production based on it.  

Additionally, the story follows Andy and Terry, who live in a 13-story treehouse and are attempting to finish their book on time despite several distractions. Their buddy Jill lives in an animal-filled house and frequently visits them.  

Furthermore, the 13-story Treehouse is said to have “a bowling alley, a see-through swimming pool, a tank full of man-eating sharks, a secret underground laboratory, a vegetable vaporizer, and a marshmallow machine that shoots marshmallows into your mouths when it sees that you are hungry,” according to the book. 

2. Amelia Rules

By Jimmy Gownley 

Amelia Rules is one of the books like a wimpy kid your youngsters will love. She’s nine years old, a former New Yorker now living in a tiny town after her parents separated, and she’s struggling with everything from being the new kid at school to her first kiss.  

But, guess what? Everything will be fine because she has her mother, aunt Tanner (who happens to be an ex-rock star), and friends Reggie, Rhonda, and Pajamaman. Except when it isn’t, of course.  

Additionally, Amelia and her friends face bullies (and Santa! ), barely make it through gym class, and get a disgustingly detailed explanation of the infamous Sneeze Barf in this first book of Amelia’s adventures. 

3. The Last Kid On Earth

By Max Brallier  

The Last Kids on Earth is an American author Max Brallier’s children’s illustrated novel and succeeding book series, drawn by Douglas Holgate and narrated by Robbie Daymond in audiobook format.

Additionally, Novels in the series have appeared in The New York Times and the U.S.A. Today’s Best Seller lists.  

This book is appropriate for “middle school” adolescent and pre-adolescent readers. In addition, the series presently contains six volumes, with a seventh and eighth on the way, and Netflix has adapted it into an animated series. 

4. Big Nate

By Lincoln Pierce 

Big Nate is next on our list of books like a wimpy kid for younger stars. Nate Wright is eleven years old, stands four and a half feet tall, and holds the school’s record for school detentions.

Additionally, he calls himself a genius and a sixth-grade Renaissance man.  Big Nate’s daily battle against overbearing teachers, arduous homework, mediocre cafeteria food, and general conformity is relatable to middle-schoolers everywhere.

However, this collection includes daily and Sunday comic strips by cartoonist Lincoln Peirce, full of his vintage flair and insights on classroom comedy. 

5. My Weird School

By Dan Gutman 

The series is set in a school where the teachers have strange personalities, with each game focusing on a different teacher. A.J., the main character, is a nerd who despises school.  

Furthermore, his rival, Andrea, enjoys school and has a friend, Emily, whom A.J. refers to as a “crybaby.” The plot’s improbable settings and the professors’ personalities, which are meant to be “outlandish,” provide a lot of humor. Additionally,  

Gutman was inspired to write the books after reading Barbara Park’s Junie B. Jones series and wanting to write something comparable from a boy’s perspective. 

6. Kid Normal

By James Greg 

Kid normal is also one of the best books for a wimpy kid to read. Murph Cooper can’t help but feel out of his depth as he starts his new school many weeks into the year. Additionally, it’s not because he’s concerned about finding a seat, making friends, or fitting in.  

It’s because his mother inadvertently enrolled him in a superhero school. Murph, unlike his classmates, who can control the weather, fly, and create miniature horses out of thin air, has no special powers.  

Furthermore, on the other hand, Murph’s completely normal abilities may be what the world requires. Because there’s a big bad guy not far away who’s half man, half wasp, and his mind is full of evil schemes and when he comes after the best and the brightest, it’s up to you. 

7. Tom Gates

By Liz Pichon 

Tom Gates’ only desire is to obtain tickets to watch his favorite band when they visit the town. In addition, when he’s up against Delia, his strange big sister, it’s not easy. All of his schemes tend to land him in serious trouble! 

8. Dork Diaries

By Rachel Russell 

Unlike the other works on this list, Dork Diaries features a female protagonist. Expect to hear about secret crushes, B.F.F. problems, and a desire to sketch.

However, if that’s your child’s thing, Nikki Maxwell, aka Queen of the Dorks, could be a good fit.  

Author Rachel Russell was partly inspired by the Japanese Manga style for her characters. With this project, you may learn how to draw this. 

9. The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.

By Jen Carney 

Meet Billie Upton Green and her incredibly unintentional Diary – but don’t call her B.U.G.! Billie has taken under her care the new girl at school.

Additionally, she’ll teach her everything she needs to know about Biscuit Laws, Mrs. Patterson, and where to eat a Jaffa Cake in secret.

She might even be invited to the YEAR’S MOST IMPORTANT EVENT (Billie’s mother is getting married). However, suspicion soon sets in. Billie’s best friend Layla appears to be quite close to the new girl. 

She also knows a lot about the massive school robbery involving Mrs. Robinson’s handbag. Billie, on the other hand, is on to her. If Patrick doesn’t catch her munching biscuits first, that is. 

10. The Geek’s Guide To Unrequited Love

By Sarvenaz Tash 

The Greek’s guide to unrequited love is also one of the books like a wimpy kid to read. Graham, sixteen years old, has been in love with Roxy since they met eight years ago.

Additionally, when they learn that the creator of their favorite comic would be attending the New York Comic-Con this year, he is motivated to come up with the perfect plan to tell Roxy how he truly feels about her.

Furthermore, at a comic book convention, no one is who they seem to be…not even Roxy. Graham also sees that fictional love stories are far less convoluted than real-life love stories. 

11. Winger

By Andrew Smith 

Ryan, a fourteen-year-old boarding school student, is assigned to the hostel for troublemakers.

Additionally, this book, which includes his doodles and other images, demonstrates how he deals with both tiny and significant obstacles in life and what to do when the unexpected occurs. 

12. Dear Dumb Diary

By Jim Benton 

Jamie Kelly’s frank and amusing diaries were first published in 2004, three years before Wimpy Kid was published in 2007. This series, however, will appeal to readers who prefer the first-person diary format. 

13. Me And Earl And The Dying Girl

By Jesse Andrew’s 

Greg and Earl are two high school students who spend most of their time on YouTube making ridiculous videos.

Meanwhile, When Greg’s childhood friend Rachel, who has leukemia, is compelled to reconnect with him, she becomes embroiled in their filmmaking ambitions as the trio sets out to make the Worst Film Ever Made. 

14. Amulet

By Kazu Kibuishi 

The exploits of Emily and her younger brother, Navin, are featured in this award-winning fantasy graphic novel series.

Furthermore, as they enter the imaginary world of Alledia, the siblings face several obstacles. There will be more suspense than in Wimpy Kid, but the hilarious visuals will be the same. 

15. Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong

By Prudence Shen 

Nothing can go wrong is also one of the books like a wimpy kid. This graphic novel equals Glee, Scott Pilgrim, battle robots, and pure joy.

Additionally, when Nate, the robotics club president, declares war on the cheerleaders over school financing, Charlie, who is ordinarily laid-back, finds himself caught up in turmoil. 

Total
0
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.